Category Archives: Uncategorized

Herald Sun Tour in Beechworth Feb 3




On Friday 3rd February the Jayco Herald-Sun Tour will finish in Beechworth. This is an amazing chance to come along and see the best cyclists in the world do their thing. The race will include Chris Froome (multiple winner of the Tour de France), Esteban Chaves (2nd Giro Italia) and Simon Gerrans (multiple stage winner in all grand tours) amongst others. The organisers have kindly offered to maintain the street closure and to cover the insurance for a series of community cycling races in Beechworth as part of the festivities. The Beechworth Chain gang will be hosting three races on the afternoon of the 3rd February and we would love to see everyone there. The race format will be a street criterium from the bakery to the Myrtleford Rd turnoff and back. Each race will run for a different number of laps of the course. It is designed to be a bit of fun so come along and get involved.

Following is the run sheet for the afternoon,

Friday 3rd February 2016

2:30pm Jayco Herald-Sun Tour Race Finish
3:00pm Local trader’s street market
3:15pm Junior Races
U8 (1 lap)
U10 (2 laps)
U15 (3 laps)
4:00pm Female (8 laps)
4:45pm Male (8 laps)

Depending on numbers we may run two categories in the adult races. A decision will be made on the day.

To register for this FREE event please enter via the attached link. A registration area will be set up on the day and everyone that is racing will need to sign in, and for the kids, a parent or guardian will be required to sign them in.

Register here

More information here-

Cycling Australia – She Rides Stage 2 – Mount Beauty to Beechworth February 3


Contact Clayton Neil at or 0417 116 571.





Trail conditions update – Beechworth MTB Park and Flametrees

Trail conditions update 2 October 2016

Beechworth MTB Park – open but USE CAUTION!

The park suffered some damage in the Six Hours in the Saddle event on 1 October 2016.  The park remains open for use, with most of the trails in reasonable condition, but there are some sections that are rutted, loose or eroded – so please USE CAUTION.  Please avoid Creekside and Secret Track (temporarily closed – return via Green loop).  Take caution on all other parts of the park as there are short sections that are damaged.  We’ll be organising repairs in the near future.

Flametrees – best avoided in the short term

Flametrees doesn’t drain as well as the park and is VERY WET.  There are also likely to be numbers of trees down.  Flametrees is best avoided in the short term.  Once the rain stops, and conditions improve we will assess condition and organise repairs.

RAMBO Beechworth 2016

Where- Beechworth Mountain Bike Park

When- Sunday August 7th

Rego- Online- or on the day from 8:30am

Course- Completely different course to what was used by WCC for round 3. Juniors course will be separate to the main course.

3hr kicks off at 10am

1.5hr and Juniors start at 11:30am


Category Race time Series cost Single race
Open Male, Open Female 3 hr enduro format $70 $25
Masters Male (40+) 3 hr enduro format $70 $25
Teams (all combinations) 3 hr enduro format $70 pp $25 pp
Sport Male 1.5 hr enduro format $70 $25
Sport Female 1.5 hr enduro format $70 $25
Juniors (under 15 for the series)(girls and boys) 1 hour race time $35 $10



Results- RAMBO Beechworth 2016,

Lap Times- RAMBO Beechwort 2016 Laps  *lap times for the first half of the 3hr race are inaccurate but number of laps and total time figures are correct.


RAMBO 2016 – Beechworth 3 July and 7 August

RAMBO – the Riverina and Alpine Mountain Bike Open – is an inter club race series, based on a 3 hour or 1.5 hour endurance format, held over the autumn and winter months.

Once again there will be 2 rounds of the series at Beechworth – the Wangaratta Cycling Club will run round 3 on 3 July, and the Beechworth Chain Gang will run round 5 on 7 August.  Dates for the entire series are shown on the flyer below.  We will post further details regarding the Beechworth rounds on this website closer to the dates.

RAMBO 2016 v2

New committee

We had our AGM on 14 September 2015.  Our President, Luc Plowman, and Treasurer, Shane Flint, stepped down from their positions after 4 years on the job.  Luc and Shane have been the backbone of the committee for the last few years and done a great job supporting the club and all that it does.

Clayton Neil was elected as our new President, and Jerun Terlaak was elected Treasurer.  Jo Hunt was also elected as a General Committee member.  Big thanks to Clayton, Jerun and Jo for putting up their hands to join the committee!  Ian Burns and Alastair Riddoch were re-elected as Secretary and Memberships office respectively.

RAMBO Round 4 – 2 August 2015 – Beechworth, Flame Trees

Where: Flame Trees, Diffey Road, Beechworth

When: Sunday 2 August 2015

Registration: Open from 8:30am

Start Times: 3hr starts at 10:00am, 1.5hr starts at 11:15am
Parking will be along Diffey Road as shown on the attached map. A designated drop off zone will be marked near the pit area so riders don’t need to carry gear from their car.
RAMBO website here:
Flame trees location map and site map showing carpark and event hub below:Location map
Site map